Squad news


07 Jun 2008
On Wednesday, La Liga and the bank BBVA signed a sponsorship agreement for the next three seasons. For the 2008/2009, 2009/2010 and 2011/2012 campaigns the first division in Spain will be called Liga BBVA and the second division Liga Adelante. The deal represents �600,000 per season for each Primera club, meaning that Depor will earn �1.8 million in case the Galicians are able to stay between the elite in those three years.

Changes for la liga 2007/2008 were announced on Wednesday. La Liga authorities and the bank BBVA (Banco Bilbao Vizcaya) signed a sponsorship deal for the next three liga seasons. The bank will invest �60 million and Primera Divisi�n will switch its name to Liga BBVA, while Segunda Divisi�n will be called Liga Adelante.

Each Primera club will receive �600,000 per season, while the clubs in Segunda will earn �360,000. Therefore Deportivo could receive an income of �1.8 million in case the Galician squad is able to achieve the permanence during the next three seasons. This deal was announced by the chairman of BBVA, Francisco Gonz�lez, and the president of la liga, Jos� Luis Astiazar�n.

The reason why BBVA decided to invest in la liga is its world-wide potential, the bank is trying to build a world-recognised brand and la liga is the perfect way to do it. According to calculations made by BBVA, the Spanish League is followed in 180 countries and by a television audience that reaches the 4,000 million of spectators. With this agreement, the Spanish league follows the tendency -called naming- of other leagues like England (Barclays Premier League), France (Ligue 1 Orange), Italy (Serie A TIM) and Holland (Eredivise Sponsor Loterij).

Papers Marca and El Correo Gallego speculated on Thursday that Lendoiro's trip to Madrid has had another reason: to search for a new sponsor. The current sponsor of the Galician club is Fadesa Martinsa, but the  contract with this building company ends in June of 2009. According to the sources, Lendoiro is making the first contacts in order to search for a replacement.

Depor Sport wrote on Thursday that three clubs already confirmed their participation in the Teresa Herrera 2008: Deportivo, Atl�tico Madrid and Cruz Azul. The dates were also published: August 18, 19 and 20. This dates will allow the participation of Atl�tico Madrid in the summer tournament since the Madrilenians have to play in the third qualifying round of the Champions League 2008/2009 (they play the first-leg on August 12-13 and the second on August 26-27). The issue still to be solved is the name of the fourth participant.

Back to Squad news