Squad news


29 Jun 2008
The Segunda B commission approved the proposition made on the past Wednesday, now Deportivo B will compete in group I against the rest of the teams from Galicia plus the ones from Asturias, Cantabria, Castile-Leon, and the Basque Country. For the season 2008/2009, the favourite teams for the first places are Racing de Ferrol, Pontevedra, Ponferradina, Zamora, and Barakaldo.

As it happened during the past season, Deportivo B will compete in group one at Segunda Divisi�n B and once again it will face some of the most historic clubs in Spain. But the difference is that now Depor's youngsters won�t travel to the Canary Islands. Instead, Tito Ramallo's squad will have to face the teams from Cantabria and Castile-Leon.

The most historic rival to be faced is without doubt Real Uni�n Club, the Basques were one of the ten privilege clubs that played at Primera Divisi�n during the first season of this competition (1928/1929), for the previous campaign Real Uni�n was near to participate in the playoffs of Segunda B, but they ended fifth, just one point behind fourth place Barakaldo.

Another historic club that will be faced by Deportivo's youngsters is Racing de Ferrol, a Galician squad that was the 'nemesis' of Depor before to Celta. Racing played in Segunda Divisi�n on the past season, they failed to achieve the permanence after the same Celta was defeated by Alav�s at Bala�dos during the last matchday of the season.

Fabril will also meet other six B squads in the group: Bilbao Athletic, Real Sociedad B, Celta B, Real Valladolid B, Racing Santander B and Sporting Gij�n B. The last two squads on this list played at Tercera for the past season and earned the promotion during the playoffs. The other team that's coming from Tercera is Ciudad de Santiago, Galician club founded in the year 1978 and that surprisingly won group one in Tercera during the past campaign.

For the season 2008/2009, the favourites in order to fight for the first four places (the ones that plays the promotion series to Segunda) are Racing de Ferrol, Pontevedra, Ponferradina, Zamora, and Barakaldo. The first team on this list played in Segunda on the past season, while the other four played the playoffs in Segunda B during the same period.

The composition of group one in Segunda B is:

Back to Squad news