Squad news


01 Sep 2012
The summer market is closed, but Depor’s squad is not closed yet as there’s the possibility of signing a free agent. For now there are 24 players at the first team, while Juan Carlos, Seoane and Tiago Pinto are inscribed as B team members.

President Augusto César Lendoiro is well known for been an “expert” in beat-the-deadline deals during the transfer windows, but on this opportunity there were mixing readings on his abilities. He was able to sign a new defender, but failed in the attempt of finding an exit to the players that don’t count for Oltra, while the arrival of a new striker remains open.

The signing that was completed on Friday was left-back Tiago Pinto, who will undergo the medicals in the coming days and will be presented on next week. Meanwhile, the arrival of a new striker is on hold. Depor’s boss confirmed that the club is interested in getting a new attacker and that it will be a free agent. To clarify that there’s no deadline in order to sign a free agent and for this reason the club left open one of the 25 spots at the first team [the shirt number 12]. On Friday it was commented that this new addition was going to be Iván Klasnić, but it wasn’t materialized.

Neither the exits of the players out of Oltra's plans were concreted; Juan Carlos was close to join SD Huesca, but the deal collapsed after the papers weren’t sent on time.  The playmaker will now be inscribed as a B team member as there was no room for him at the first team, though it isn’t know yet is he will play at Depor B. Diego Seoane was also inscribed as a Fabril’s player, but he won’t perform for the B team.  The same goes for Tiago Pinto. It was commented that players like Saul Fernandez and Jesús Vázquez were going to leave, but they are staying as the club didn’t find a destiny for them.

Eight players have left Deportivo for the new season: Diego Colotto (RCD Espanyol), Claudio Morel (CA Independiente), Borja Fernandez (Getafe CF), Pablo Álvarez (CD Lugo), Xisco (Newcastle United), Lassad Nouioui (without club), Andrés Guardado (Valencia CF) and David Rochela (loaned to Racing Santander).

Of this list, Borja and Xisco returned to their parent clubs after ending their loans, while Colotto, Morel, Pablo Álvarez, Lassad and Guardado left Deportivo as free agents. Therefore Lendoiro didn’t collect any money during the summer transfer window. The exits of Guardado and Colotto are the biggest hits to Oltra’s Deportivo, though the club made signings to cover their departures.

The club secured nine signing for the campaign 2012/13; since there was no collected money from the exits neither the club spent money buying players; instead seven of the nine signings were loan spells: André Santos, Pizzi, Evaldo, Roderick, Nélson Oliveira, Abel Aguilar and Camuñas. Marchena was a free agent and signed a two-year deal, while the club still has to clarify the details of the operation for Tiago Pinto

The first team of Deportivo for the season 2012/2013 (27 players):
Goalkeepers: Aranzubia and Lux
Defenders: Manuel Pablo, Laure, Aythami, Marchena, Ze Castro, Roderick, Evaldo, Ayoze, Tiago Pinto (*) and Seoane (*)
Midfielders: Juan Domínguez, Álex Bergantiños, André Santos, Abel Aguilar,  Jesús Vázquez, Valerón, Saúl, Bruno Gama, Camuñas, Salomão, Pizzi and Juan Carlos (*)
Strikers: Riki, Bodipo and Nélson Oliveira

* B team players

Shirt numbers:
1. Aranzubia
2.  Manuel Pablo
3. Evaldo
4. Álex Bergantiños
5. Ze Castro
6. Aythami
7.  Saul
8.  André Santos
9.  Pizzi
10.  Juan Dominguez
11.  Riki
12.  Free
13.  Lux
14.  Abel Aguilar
15. Laure 
16.  Bruno Gama
17. Ayoze
18. Camuñas
19.  Roderick
20. Jesus Vázquez
21. Valerón
22.  Salomao 
23.  Bodipo
24.  Marchena
25.  Nelson Oliveira



Related news


Back to Squad news