Squad news


01 Feb 2014
Big moves at both Depor and Depor B during the winter window; there were more arrivals that exits at both teams. Now there’s a better balance, the signings were possible as all the reinforcements signed contracts lasting until June.

It was one of the busiest winter transfer windows at Deportivo La Coruña. Even with movements during the deadline day. The Galician club released three players and made five signings to raise the number of players at the first team to 21. Now coach Fernando Vázquez practically has two players per position.

The players that left the team are playmaker Juan Culio, centre-back Claudiano Bezerra ‘Kaká’ and winger Carlos Wilson Cachicote ‘Rudy’. The Argentine player was transferred to Al Wasl FC in an operation that reported €530,000 to the club, while the Brazilian rescinded his contract –lasting until 2015- and later he signed for Apoel FC. Then, on deadline day, Rudy was loaned to Portuguese club CF Os Belenenses.

In exchange Deportivo got five new players: striker José Verdú Nicolás ‘Toché’, playmaker Bryan Rabello, left winger Diogo Salomão, right winger Ibrahim Sissoko and centre-back Albert Lopo. The key to complete these signings is that all of them signed contracts or loan spells lasting until June, it allowed to maximize the income for Culio’s transfer.

On deadline day Deportivo tried to sign a sixth reinforcement: a centre midfielder. The club had three possibilities. One was Sevilla’s Javi Hervás, player that’s currently performing for Hércules CF. This operation failed as the Valencian club rejected to allow the exit of the player. The other two options were foreigners, the names weren’t revealed, just that one was South American and the other from West Europe.

Still, coach Fernando Vázquez was quite happy, as he said on Friday, ”Don’t like prejudices, but I’m convinced that we gained quality and velocity; which are two important virtues for the team. I’m content for how the team was assembled, and it wasn’t easy as it isn’t easy to get the proper reinforcements in January, with players that could come here in order to be starters, but I expect that in this case many of them can demonstrate that they are better. I believe we have guessed right.”

Depor’s first squad for the rest of the season (shirt numbers in parenthesis)
Keepers: Lux (1) & Fabricio (13)
Defenders: Manuel Pablo (2), Laure (15), Marchena (5), Lopo (23), Insua (28), Luisinho (16) & Seoane (22)
Midfielders: Álex Bergantiños (4), Juan Dominguez (10), Wilk (20) Juan Carlos (25), Bryan Rabello (14), Antonio Núñez (7), Diogo Salomão (17) & Ibrahim Sissoko (3).
Attackers: Arizmendi (11), Luis Fernández (24), Borja Bastón (9) & Toché (18)

It was also a moved market at Deportivo B, because there were four additions plus three exits from the team. The players that left were goalkeeper Rodrigo Iglesias ‘Rodri’, striker Iago Beceiro and centre midfielder Paulo Teles. The first two rescinded their contracts. In the case of Beceiro he signed for Segunda B club Caudal Deportivo. Later, Teles was loaned to Segunda B club CD Guijuelo.

The arrivals are winger Miguel Nunes Cardoso, goalkeeper Marc Martínez, plus strikers Marc Nierga & Tonći Mujan. As it happens with the first team, the key to make the signings is that they sealed a deal lasting until June. Nunes, Marc Martinez and Nierga were free transfers, while Mujan arrived loaned from Hajduk Split.

To clarify that the signing of Mujan isn’t official yet. The Croatian youngster landed on Friday in a Coruña and the paperwork was already presented, but the club will have a final resolution in the coming days. If this signing is accepted then the B squad of Deportivo is officially composed by 23 players, though the number can be increased to 27 taking in mind the players from Juvenil A that normally train with the team-

Fabril’s squad for the rest of the season
Goalkeepers: David Gómez, Felipe Ramos & Marc Martinez
Defenders: Toni Insua, Jorge Callón, Uxío Marcos, Róber Suárez, Stefan Deák, Enrique Fornos & Aarón Rama
Midfielders: Oumar Sidibé, Ángel Fernández, Adrián Martínez, Álvaro Queijeiro, Jorge Romay, Marcos Remeseiro, Juanpa Barros, Bicho, Jesús Cañizares ‘Cañi’, Óscar García & Miguel Nunes Cardoso.
Attackers: Álex Pérez, Álvaro Lemos, José Bertua ‘Chiño’, Dani Iglesias, Marc Nierga & Tonći Mujan (pending)



Back to Squad news