Squad news


03 Sep 2014
Large squad that for some people is unbalanced as there are too many right-backs and only two natural centre forwards. Coach Víctor Fernández is having 25 players that will try to help Deportivo to clinch the permanence at Primera.

Deportivo completed its squad for the season 2014/15 with the arrival of French defender Modibo Diakité. He signed as a free agent and pulled up the number of new arrival two twelve. Previously Deportivo had signed eleven players during the summer window: Roberto Canella, José Rodriguez, Lucas Pérez, Isaac Cuenca, Diogo Salomão, Luis Fariña, Iván Cavaleiro, Haris Medunjanin, Hélder Postiga, Juanfran Moreno & Sidnei.

It means the half of the squad now under the command of new coach Víctor Fernández is just landing in A Coruña. Fourteen players are surviving from the squad that clinched the promotion on last year: German Lux, Fabricio Agosto, Laureano Sanabria ´Laure’, Manuel Pablo, Pablo Insua, Albert Lopo, Luisinho, Diego Seoane, Álex Bergantiños, Juan Dominguez, Cezary Wilk, Juan Carlos, Toché and Diogo Salomão. The latter is both considered a new signing and a survivor from last season as his loan spell was extended for one more year.

Seven players  left the club compared to the team that ended last season: Carlos Marchena, Bryan Rabello, Antonio Núñez, Ibrahim Sissoko, Javier Arizmendi, Borja Bastón and Luis Fernández. Striker Luis left Deportivo loaned together with other three Fabril’s players: Bicho, Sergio Teles and Álvaro Lemos.

Coach Víctor Fernández stated before that he was expecting for a short squad composed by 22 men, but he will find today during the training that the 25 slots were fulfilled after Juan Carlos and Diego Seoane didn’t want to leave the club on deadline day. Besides, he signed a fourth right-back –Juanfran-

For many people there’s an unbalance at the team as there are many players  at the right-back (4), while there are only two centre forwards. However, the situation was worse before as the team only had two centre-backs and one centre forward before the deadline day moves.

Depor didn’t pay anything for a transfer and neither collected money selling players. Seven of the men at the first team arrived on loan and the others belong to Deportivo. Seven of the players are coming from Fabril, while there are ten foreigners: four Portuguese,  two Argentine, one Brazilian, one French, one Polish and one Bosnian player.

Squad for the season 2014/15 [shirt numbers in parenthesis]:
Goalkeepers: Lux (1) & Fabricio (13)
Defenders: Manuel Pablo (2), Laure (15), Seoane (22), Juanfran Moreno (11), Insua (5), Lopo (23), Sidnei (12), Diakité (21), Luisinho (16) & Canella (3)
Midfielders: Álex Bergantiños (4), Juan Dominguez (10), Wilk (20), José Rodriguez (6), Medunjanin (8), Lucas Pérez (7), Cuenca (14), Salomão (17), Fariña (24)  & Juan Carlos (25)
Attackers: Toché (18), Cavaleiro (19) & Postiga (9)



Related news


Back to Squad news