Squad news


09 Oct 2006
Yesterday, the draw for the fourth round in Copa Del Rey took place in Madrid. It's the first round in which the Primera clubs will compete, Deportivo will have to play against Racing Santander in a two-leg eliminatory that will start on October 25th at the Riazor.

The 2006 copa del rey tournament is reaching its final instances. 32 clubs will try to conquer the title starting on October 25th. Of this number, twenty teams are coming from Primera, six from Segunda (Alav?©s, X?©rez, M??laga, H?©rcules, CD Castell??n and Valladolid), five from Segunda B (?‰cija, Badalona, Pe?±a Sport, Racing Portuense and Rayo Vallecano) and one from Tercera (Gimn??stica Segoviana).

A special concession has been given to the Primera clubs competing in Europe (Real Madrid, Barcelona, Valencia, Osasuna, Villarreal, Espanyol, Celta and Sevilla). They will meat the rivals from Tercera and Segunda B, while the rest of Primera clubs will play between each other and against Segunda clubs.

Deportivo will have to play against Racing Santander in one of the four confrontations between Primera clubs. Both teams have already played on eight occasion for this competition. The Cantabrian club has the advantage in this series with four victories, three defeats and only one draw. The last time in which both squads faced each other in copa del rey was in 1974. On that occasion, Racing eliminated Depor with two 3-0 victories during the fourth round of the tournament.

It will also mean an interesting confrontation since Depor will face a team that possesses three of their players on loan spells (R??ben Castro, Momo and Antonio Tom??s), and that also has Pedro Munitis in its squad, one of the protagonists in Deportivo during the last two years. The first-leg match will take place on October 25th at the Riazor, and the second-leg will occur on November 8th at El Sardinero.

The complete list of series for the fourth round is:
1- ?‰cija Vs. Real Madrid
2- Badalona Vs. Barcelona
3- Pe?±a Sport Vs. Osasuna
4- Racing Portuense Vs. Valencia
5- Gimn??stica Segoviana Vs. Sevilla
6- Rayo Vallecano Vs. Espanyol
7- CD Castell??n Vs. Villarreal
8- Alav?©s Vs. Celta
9- Xerez Vs. Getafe
10- M??laga Vs. Real Sociedad
11- Valladolid Vs. Nastic
12- H?©rcules Vs. Zaragoza
13- Deportivo Vs. Racing Santander
14- Recreativo Vs. Betis
15- Athletic Bilbao Vs. Mallorca
16- Atl?©tico Madrid Vs. Levante

Back to Squad news