Squad news


25 Jun 2017
For now Deportivo have 26 players to start the pre-season, the number the club wants is 22. Six men are ending their link with the club on next Friday.

On July 1, the first team of Deportivo will be composed by 26 players. At this point it gives the impression that the planning for next season is in its early stages, but the true is that coach Pepe Mel will find a full changing room on July 3, day in which the pre-season will start.

Six players are ending their link with Depor on next Friday: Goalkeepers German Lux and Davy Roef, wingers Carles Gil and Ola John, plus attackers Joselu and Marlos Moreno.

The club is interested in the continuity of the half of these players, more specifically in Davy Roef, Carles Gil and Ola John, but a possible agreement for them is not close to happen, so they will return to their parent clubs starting on July 1.

Other three players were ending their contracts on June 30, but their situation was already fixed: Juanfran Moreno, Fernando Navarro & Guilherme dos Santos.  Navarro got an extra year on his contract fulfilling a clause on his contract, while Deportivo already agreed to pay the buyout option of Guilherme (around €6 million).

In the case of Juanfran, Deportivo haven’t yet closed the agreement with Watford FC, but president Tino Fernández said a couple of weeks ago that he already ordered the fulfilment of the operation, so the right-back will be at Abegondo to start the pre-season, though pending of a possible exit as it seems there are offers for him.

The club is aware that four or five more signings are needed, but the clear point is that, with 26 men already on board, it’s also crucial to allow the exit of at least six players. The plan of the coaching staff is to have 22 players at the first team, which will include two goalkeepers and twenty outfield players. A third goalkeeper will be training with the first team, but it will be coming from Depor B. This is the formula that sporting director Richard Barral has referred as 22+1.

Players under contract after June 30:
Goalkeepers: Tytoń & Rubén Martínez
Defenders: Juanfran, Laure, Navarro, Albentosa, Sidnei, Arribas, Róber, Insua, Saúl García & Luisinho.
Midfielders: Álex Bergantiños, Mosquera, Guilherme, Borges, Juan Dominguez, Çolak, Cartabia, Fajr, Bicho, Fede Valverde & Bruno Gama
Attackers: Andone, Borja Valle & Oriol Riera



Back to Squad news