Squad news


26 Jun 2017
The list of twenty clubs that will compete on next season is completed after the promotion of Getafe CF. The VAR system could be used for the first time.

On Saturday, Getafe CF clinched the promotion back to Primera joining UD Levante and Girona CF in the road up. Catalans Girona FC will be debuting at the elite, while Madrilenians Getafe CF and Valencians UD Levante are retuning after only one year at Segunda, the previous time with two recently relegated teams clinching the promotion back only one year later was in 2001 (Sevilla CF and Real Betis).

The draw for the season 2017/18 will be made on Thursday, July 20 in Madrid. The new season will have a representation from only 7 of the 17 communities in Spain, with the Basque country having the largest participation (4 clubs).

As it happened in the previous Primera campaigns, there won’t be too many short trips for Deportivo’s fans during the away games. Actually, it will only be derby with RC Celta, because the other short trip of last season was the visit to Sporting Gijón, side that will now play at Liga 123.

The new liga season will start on August 19 and will end on May 20. The date for the final in Copa Del Rey isn’t fixed yet, but it should take place before the end of the league. There will be at least six matchdays in midweek, this in order to not extend the tournament taking in mind that there’ a World Cup on next summer.

The big novelty for the new season will be the use of the VAR system. It’s not official yet, but the president of la liga, Javier Tebas, said in January that they were already making tests and were only waiting from the approval of FIFA.

Despite the criticism, it’s expected that la liga will keep the kick-off time of Saturday’s noon (13h00), while there will continue to be matches held on Fridays (20h30) and Mondays (20h30). The other eight frames are divided on Saturdays (13h00, 16h00, 18h15 & 20h30) and Sundays (12h00, 16h00, 18h15 & 20h30).



Back to Squad news