Squad news


29 Oct 2018
New defeat for Fabril, new coach Pellicer debuted but his team had a grey performance losing against a direct rival that only seized its best opportunity.

Sergio Pellicer was debuting as the coach of Fabril after Tito Ramallo was fired on Monday. He was having the casualty of Uxio Dapena, who got injured in the previous game against San Sebastian Los Reyes. He opted in giving the spot in attack to Pedro Correia, the Portuguese only had 12 minutes on the season with Ramallo.

The draw was a 4-2-3-1 figure. Pedro López was the starting goalie, Quique Fornos covered the right side in defence, Lucas Viña played on the left, Raúl González and Steve One were the centre-backs. Carlos López and Javi Cobo were the centre midfielders, Juan Jesús Argüez ‘Juanje’ attacked from the left wing, Víctor García did it from the right, Joni Montiel was the playmaker and Pedro Correia was the centre forward.

The rival was Coruxo FC, team that was only two points above the pit before this game. The Galicians are coached by Jacobo Montes and their reference in attack was Diego Silva. Ex-Fabril keeper Alberto Dominguez and winger Juampa Barros were starters in the game.

The start of the game wasn’t brilliant, there weren’t clear chances to score within the first fifteen minutes, but at least Fabril left the feeling of been the better team on the pitch. Depor’s lads were putting a high pressure and were insisting on the right wing with a couple of crosses that didn’t find a receiver.

The first chance was for Fabril, a counterattack ended with a long pass of Montiel looking for Pedro Correia that was cleared by local goalie Alberto (17’). Coruxo FC responded with a pass of Mateo looking for Borja Yebra inside the area, but Steve One blocked the shot (21’).

Víctor García should have scored in the next play, he collected a drilling cross from Quique Fonos inside the box, but his final attempt just when close to the far post. At minute 23, the first shot on target from Fabril arrived though a direct free-kick of Montiel blocked by Alberto.

The first half lost pace within the last twenty minutes, mainly because the referee allowed some tough tackles by both teams, the main one was an elbow of Mateo to Javi Cobo that the referee punished only showing a yellow card (26’).

The start of the second half was also slow, this time with Coruxo FC having the initiative. Still, Fabril had the first chance in the half with Montiel firing from the edge of the area a shot that was blocked by Alberto (52’).

And then Coruxo FC found the goal, Jacobo Trigo got the ball at the edge of the area, he headed it into the right corner and Juampa Barros arrived there to score through a low and crossed shot. Pellicer reacted and sent Salles-Lamonge to replace Javi Cobo.

Pedro Correia appeared at minute 66 making a solo-play inside the area, but Alberto cleared the danger (66’). Guillermo May was the second substitution as he replaced Raúl González. The draw was now a 3-5-2.

At minute 72, Montiel wasted a good chance in a lateral free-kick; his cross was cleared by Alberto and later no one was able to capitalize the loose ball. Diego Villarres was the last substation as he replaced Juanje. The last chances for the visiting side were headers of Pedro Correia that went close to the crossbar (90’ & 90+2’).

New coach, same impression. Fabril played a good game and, despite playing better than the rival, it returns without points from O Vao after been unable to create enough chances to score once. The team will remain in relegation and face Rápido de Bouzas on next Sunday (Abegondo, 17h00 CET)

Coruxo: (4-2-3-1) Alberto – Guille (Jacobo Trigo 54’), Sergio Rodriguez, Megia, Lucas Puime – Borja Yeibra, Mateo – Juampa, Pitu (Beltrán 81’), Antón – Silva (Pablo Aguilera 58’).
Fabril: (4-2-3-1) Pedro López – Quique Fornos, One, Raúl González (May 68’), Lucas Viña – Javi Cobo (Salles-Lamonge 64’), Carlos López – Víctor García, Joni Montiel, Juanje (Villarres 86’) – Pedro Correia.
Goal: 1-0: (62’) Juampa
Referee: Fernando Román Román. He showed yellow cardo to Juampa (20’), Mateo (26’), Lucas Viña (36’), Silva (57’) & Carlos López (80’)
Venue: O Vao.




Back to Competition news