Squad news


26 Nov 2018
Big loss for Fabril; the team played a bad first half and allowed two goals, and when it tried to react in the final part, it ended allowing the third goal.

Coach Sergio Pellicer was only missing Bicho for injury reasons. The coach was returning from a suspension and made changes at the lineup. Keeper Pedro López didn’t make the trip to Madrid as he was pending of the situation of Ortolá with he first team, therefore Ricardo Benjamín was on the bench.

The draw was a 4-2-3-1 figure. Álex Cobo was the starting goalie, Quique Fornos covered the right side in defence, Lucas Viña played on the left, Mujaid and Steve One were the centre-backs. Carlos López and Javi Cobo were the centre midfielders, Diego Villares attacked from the left wing, Víctor García did it from the right, Joni Montiel was the playmaker and Uxío Dapena was the centre forward.

The rival was Atlético Madrid B, precisely the tea that’s marking the salvation at Segunda B. Coach Óscar Fernández was missing top-scorer Darío Poveda (five goals on the season). Borja Garcés was the reference in attack. Ex-Fabril Óscar García was a starter in the game.

Soft game for Fabril, the lads paid the price for a poor first part and were unable to change the tide in the second. There were no combinations at midfield and even Álex Cobo prevented a bigger defeat with a couple of saves.

The game was equal at the start, though the locals started to dominate the actions at minute 15. Then the first goal arrived, it was a cross from the right that Óscar Clemente found between two defenders to score from close range.

Fabril didn’t react properly and Atlético B continued dominating the game and the second goal were closer than the equalizer. The locals weren’t having a clear chance to score, but at least they were arriving into the rival’s area. And it’s that Depor’s lads were barely stepping into the other side of the pitch and were playing on long throws.

The first arrival for the visiting side was a corner-kick of Montiel without consequences (37’). And then the second goal for Atlético B arrived before the break, a cross from the left was deflected by a defender and Óscar García arrived from behind to score against his former team. He didn’t celebrate the goal.

Pellicer made changes at half-time, Iago Gandoy and Adrián Castro replaced Javi Cobo and Villares. Fabril started to look more offensive, but it also created cracks at defence. Óscar Clemente missed a big chance to score the third goal after collecting a pass from Joaquin, and Álex Cobo made the save (50’).

The first big chance to score for Fabril came at minute 59, Víctor García collected a cross rom the left and his shot was saved by a defender at the goal line. Two minutes later the same Víctor headed on target a cross from the right and local goalie Jaume Valens made the save.

Suddenly Fabril had hopes, but it all ended when the third goal for Atlético B arrived. Óscar García made the play on the right and ended assisting Joaquín Muñoz, who ended scoring from close range. The last substitution for Fabril as the entry of Pedro for Uxío and nothing more occurred with the last 20 minutes.

It has been a difficult season for Fabril, but until this game the lads had never lost a game by a margin of two or more goals. And it occurred in Madrid after a poor first half in which Fabril was at the mercy of the rival. There was a small reaction in the second part, but the third goal killed the game. The next game is the home game with Real Madrid Castilla (Saturday, 17h00 CET).

Atlético B: (4-2-3-1) Valens - Ricard, Aitor Puñal, Montero, Samu Araújo - Cristian, Joaquín (Muñoz 84’) - Óscar García (Teguia 75’), Toni Moya, Óscar Clemente (Mollejo 65’) - Borja Garcés.
Fabril: (4-2-3-1) Álex Cobo –Quique Fornos, Mujaid, One, Lucas Viña – Javi Cobo (Gandoy 46’), Carlos López – Víctor García, Joni Montiel, Villares (Adrián Castro 46’) – Uxío Dapena (Pedro 68’).
Goals: 1-0: (14’) Óscar Clemente, 2-0: (39’) Óscar García, 3-0: (70’) Joaquín Muñoz
Referee: Samir Amar. He showed yellow card to Steve One (27’), Toni Moya (32’), Montero (35’), Carlos López (61’) & Samu Araújo (85’)
Venue: Cerro Del Espino




Back to Competition news