Teresa Herrera tournament

Teresa Margarita Herrera y Posada was a woman from La Coruña (born on 10 November, 1712) who dedicated nothing less than 36 years of her life to the poor. The house where she lived was situated at Cordonerí­a street and among her neighbours she became known as Teresa dos Demos. This was because they thought she was a witch as she always went on her knees to the San Nicolás Church to pray. This was a proof of her very religious character.

She and her nine brothers lost their father when Teresa was still very young, and her mother had to raise all of them on her own. Seven of the boys did not live to become adults. Teresa Herrera, who later on took care of her mother, personally cared for a disabled woman. In her own home she also looked after some other women from the street.

Her dream always was to build a hospital in La Coruña which would take care of the poor. This wish was to be fulfilled when she was 79-years old as the first stone of the new hospital (Hospital de Dolores) was laid in 1791. She died on 22 October of the same year.

The tournament Deportivo organises every summer, which until 2000 was done by the city, is named after her and is dubbed "the most prestigious tournament in the world" since 1946. Deportivo have won the Trofeo Teresa Herrera 19 times (in 1955, 1962, 1964, 1969, 1995, 1997, 1998, the period 2000-2008, 2012, 2014 and 2015), more than any other club. Real Madrid is the second, having won 9 trophies.

A common thought had being going around is that, if Deportivo had won the tournament, then the season would end in a negative way. Until 1998 that could have been the case, but things seem different now. And this also depends on what's considered as a "bad" season, because until 1995 the club had never won the gold. The next nine editions (2000-2008) were won by Deportivo and in this period the team delivered four excellent Champions League participations. In the Liga the club finished twice on the second spot and twice on the third spot. Besides, the Copa del Rey and Supercopa were won in 2002. It seems Irureta turned the 'curse' around into a 'blessing' while coaches Caparrós and Lotina continued with this 'tradition', but before the start of the season 2009/2010, Depor lost it's first Teresa Herrera in ten years against Atlético Madrid. Since then Deportivo only won one of the next five tournaments and ended relegated twice. So, it now gives the impression that the results of the Teresa Herrera are later reflected in the results in liga.

1946 Sevilla FC
1947 Athletic de Bilbao
1948 FC Barcelona
1949 Real Madrid
1950 Lazio Roma
1951 FC Barcelona
1952 Valencia
1953 Real Madrid
1954 Sevilla FC
1955 Deportivo La Coruña
1956 Atlético de Madrid
1957 Vasco da Gama
1958 Nacional de Montevideo
1959 Santos
1960 Sevilla FC
1961 Sporting Lisbon
1962 Deportivo La Coruña
1963 AS Monaco
1964 Deportivo La Coruña
1965 Atlético de Madrid
1966 Real Madrid
1967 Club Ferrol
1968 Vitoria Setubal
1969 Deportivo La Coruña
1970 Ferencvaros
1971 Red Star Belgrade
1972 FC Barcelona
1973 Atlético de Madrid
1974 Peñarol
1975 Peñarol
1976 Real Madrid
1977 Fluminense
1978 Real Madrid
1979 Real Madrid
1980 Real Madrid
1981 Dinamo Kiev
1982 Dinamo Kiev
1983 Athletic de Bilbao
1984 AS Roma
1985 Atlético de Madrid
1986 Atlético de Madrid
1987 Benfica
1988 PSV Eindhoven
1989 Bayern Munich
1990 FC Barcelona
1991 FC Porto
1992 Sao Paulo
1993 FC Barcelona
1994 Real Madrid
1995 Deportivo La Coruña
1996 Botafogo
1997 Deportivo La Coruña
1998 Deportivo La Coruña
1999 Celta de Vigo
2000 Deportivo La Coruña
2001 Deportivo La Coruña
2002 Deportivo La Coruña
2003 Deportivo La Coruña
2004 Deportivo La Coruña
2005 Deportivo La Coruña
2006 Deportivo La Coruña
2007 Deportivo La Coruña
2008 Deportivo La Coruña
2009 Atlético Madrid
2010 Newcastle United
2011 Sevilla CF
2011 Deportivo La Coruña
2012 Atlético Madrid  
2013 Real Madrid  
2014 Deportivo La Coruña
2015 Deportivo La Coruña

But one cannot deny that the quality of the tournament and the interest of the public has been decreasing during the past years, actually since Deportivo have taken charge of the tournament (2000). It's no secret that the club and the city have a troubled relationship, and without the city support it has been difficult to keep the quality up. Besides, the interest in the summer tournaments is no longer the same, and for the edition 2009 Deportivo decided to only make a final game instead of the traditional series with four clubs,  though in 2014 the tournament recovered the format with four teams. This was just a punctual situation as one year later there was only one game.

The tournament used to exist of four quality European teams, but the format immediately changed because of the single match between Deportivo and Lazio in 2000. Since that year mainly South-American clubs participated, and usually the same: Peñarol (2005, 2001), Cruz Azul (2008, 2002, 2001), Nacional de Montevideo (2006, 2005, 2003, 2002) and Club América (2003) have played the tournament and only have been accompanied by Atlético de Madrid (2009, 2008, 2006, 2004, 2002), Real Zaragoza (2004), Sporting Lisbon (2004), Real Madrid (2007, 2001), AC Milan (2006) and Lazio Roma (2000) since 2000. The editions of 2005 and 2003 were played in a triangular format.

2015 Deportivo, SC Braga    
2014 Deportivo, Sporting Gijón, Sporting CP, Nacional de Montevideo   
2013 Deportivo, Real Madrid   
2012 Deportivo, Atletico Madrid

2011 Deportivo, Sevilla CF
2010 Deportivo, Newcastle United
2009 Deportivo, Atlético Madrid
2008 Deportivo, Atlético Madrid, Cruz Azul, Sporting Gijón                       
2007 Deportivo, Real Madrid, Os Beleneses, Atalanta BC
2006 Deportivo, AC Milan, Atlético de Madrid, Nacional de Montevideo
2005 Deportivo, Peñarol, Nacional de Montevideo
2004 Deportivo, Atlético de Madrid, Real Zaragoza, Sporting Lisbon
2003 Deportivo, Club América, Nacional de Montevideo
2002 Deportivo, Atlético de Madrid, Cruz Azul, Nacional de Montevideo
2001 Deportivo, Peñarol, Real Madrid, Cruz Azul
2000 Deportivo, Lazio Roma
1999 Deportivo, Celta de Vigo, Boca Juniors, Corinthians
1998 Deportivo, Lazio Roma, Atlético de Madrid, Real Madrid
1997 Deportivo, PSV Eindhoven, Atl?©tico de Madrid, Vasco da Gama
1996 Deportivo, Botafogo, Juventus, Ajax Amsterdam
1995 Deportivo, Real Madrid, Benfica, ?
1994 Deportivo, Real Madrid, FC Porto, Sampdoria
1993 Deportivo, FC Barcelona, Sao Paolo, Lazio Roma
1992 Deportivo, FC Barcelona, Sao Paolo, Peñarol
1991 Deportivo, Real Madrid, FC Porto, Ajax Amsterdam