Juan Acuña tournament


Juan Acuña Naya (nicknamed Xanetas) is considered to be the best goalkeeper in the history of Deportivo. Born in A Coruña on February 13th, 1923, he gained the spot of starting keeper in the squad when he was only 16 (Depor was playing in Segunda at that time). Two seasons later Depor was promoted to Primera División and Acuña shined and even won four Zamora trophies in a period of just nine years: 1941/1942, 1942/1943, 1949/1950 and 1950/1951. In fact, Acuña is the second Spanish keeper with more Zamoras, just behind Catalan Antonio Ramallets.

Acuña also played with Spain's national squad, but he did it only twice. He was part of the team that played the 1950 FIFA World Cup played in Brazil, but he was the substitute of Ramallets. Despite Depor lost the category and ended in Segunda, Acuña never left the club and spent a period of twenty years at the Galician team. In the end he's one of Depor's players with more appearances in Primera División (230).

During the summer of 1961, the club made a tribute match for Juan Acuña. It was an encounter between Galician and Basque veterans that was followed by  a game between Deportivo and Ourense. For the year 1989, Deportivo created the Juan Acuña tournament, competition that's disputed since then at the beginning of each season. It consists in a single game between Deportivo and an invited club.

Acuña attended to the first editions (A statute in his honour was also inaugurated at the Riazor), but he died later on August 30th 2001. The Juan Acuña trophy has been played in eighteen opportunities, Depor has won the cup in eleven occasions (1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005 and 2006), including one won by Depor's veterans against 'Super Depor'. The editions of 2008 and 2009 weren't disputed due the lack of interest in Spain about the summer tournaments.

1989 Real Oviedo 0-0 Deportivo La Coruña [Real Oviedo won on penalties]
1990 Deportivo La Coruña 1-1 Real Burgos [Depor won on penalties]
1991 Deportivo La Coruña 1-1 Athletic Club de Bilbao  [Deportivo won on penalties]
1992 Deportivo La Coruña 2-0 CR Flamengo
1993 Deportivo La Coruña 6-1 Universidad Católica
1994 Sevilla FC 1-0 Deportivo La Coruña
1995 not held
1996 FC Porto 1-1 Deportivo La Coruña [Porto won on penalties]
1997 Deportivo La Coruña 3-1 SE Palmeiras
1998 AC Milan 1-0 Deportivo La Coruña
1999 Deportivo La Coruña 4-0 Fluminense
2000 Deportivo La Coruña 2-0 Girondins Bordeaux
2001 Deportivo La Coruña 1-0 Udinese Calcio
2002 Deportivo La Coruña 4-1 Hannover 96
2003 FC Porto 2-0 Deportivo La Coruña
2004 FC Tokyo 2-1 Deportivo La Coruña
2005 Deportivo La Coruña 2 -0 Birmingham [Triangular Trophy that included Depor B]
2006 Deportivo (Veterans) 4-2 Super Depor (Veterans)
2007 Vitoria Guimaraes 1-1 Deportivo La Coruña   [ Vitoria won on penalties]